Summer 2010

Richard Perkins

Richard Perkins

Welcome to the first post of my new personal blog: I’M A GUITARIST, GET ME OUT OF HERE. Here I will write a personal account of my work and projects in first person perspective, rather than the second person perspective I write my other blogs in!

I have been a busy boy. Here goes; London, Bath, France, Bath, Chicago, Bath, Cheltenham, Bath, Cheltenham, and finally back home to Bath.

Southbank Centre, London

I taught a two-hour Acoustic Echoes course during the London Guitar Festival in mid-May at the Southbank Centre. The course included an in-depth look at the playing style of Jose Gonzalez, who had performed to a full house at the London Festival Hall the previous night. We also learnt the Bon Iver song ‘Blood Bank’.

Acoustic Echoes with Richard Perkins

Bath Guitar School Band 2010

During the month of May I assembled my Bath Guitar School Band, made up of my guitar students. We rehearsed every Sunday for four weeks and performed at the annual Bath International Music Festival’s Party in the City event in Bath city centre. This year the band performed in the beautiful Parade Gardens bandstand.

Check out the bands performances on the Bath Guitar School YouTube Channel.

France

I set off for France in early June to teach the Acoustic Blues Guitar course in La Moreau, south west France near Cognac. This was my first venture with my guitar holiday partners Creative Vancances. I kept a blog during the course and you can read it here: Acoustic Blues France 2010.

Acoustic Blues 2010

Acoustic Blues 2010

CiTV’s Skillicious

On my return from France I filmed a short VT for the CiTV show Skillicious with a young Budd-ing student of mine, Jonny Budd. The crew filmed Jonny’s band, The Demented, performing for an invitation only audience at his school, St John’s in Marlborough. Jonny also filmed a video diary and won the Skillicious Whizz Kid Award!

The show first aired on Monday 26th July on the CiTV Channel. I have uploaded the clip to YouTube so you don’t have to miss it!

CiTV’s Skillicious with Jonny Budd & Richard Perkins

Jonny and I also manage to find ourselves featured in the local newspapers!

Gazette & Herald

Gazette & Herald

Bath Chronicle

Bath Chronicle

Sing-A-Long Weekend

In late June I ran a non-intensive and fun Acoustic Guitar Sing-A-Long weekend in Bath. We learnt some great songs and performed to an audience of friends and family over some good wine and nibbles. Check out our performances on the Bath Guitar School YouTube Channel.

We performed:

  1. Hey Hey My My – Neil Young
  2. Good Riddance (Time Of Your Life) – Green Day
  3. You’ve Got To Hie Your Love Away – The Beatles
  4. Losing My Religion – REM
Acoustic Sing-A-Long

Acoustic Sing-A-Long

Chicago

I visited the US for the very first time in July 2010 and stayed at the Hard Rock Hotel in Chicago, which was just amazing! I visited the Museum of Science & Industry and saw the Hubble 3D movie, The Adler Planetarium, walked the Magnificent Mile and enjoyed the lovely Millennium Park complete with it’s Cloud sculpture.

House of Blues - Chicago

House of Blues – Chicago

Acoustic Echoes

The guitar summer school season got underway with the Cheltenham Guitar Festival (Formerly Bath) on Saturday 24th July at the University of Gloucestershire. I taught the first two days of Tristan Seume’s Acoustic Echoes course as Tristan was touring with Jackie Oats.

South West Rocks

I then returned to Bath to teach the Monsters of Rock course (and run the Rock Camp) at the South West Rock Camp at the City of Bath College from 26th-30th July. The Rock Camp was a huge success and great fun was had by all! As always I kept a blog: South West Rocks 2010.

South West Rocks 2010

South West Rocks 2010

Classic Rock Moves

Rock Apprentice

After teaching the Monsters of Rock course at the South West Rock Camp I headed back to the Cheltenham Guitar Festival to teach the Rock Apprentice course. Once again I kept a blog and filmed the student showcase performance. View the blog here: Rock Apprentice 2010.

Rock Apprentice 2010

Rock Apprentice 2010

Brain Stew – Green Day

Rock & Roll Queen – The Subways

IGF Rock Guitar Orchestra

While teaching at the Cheltenham Guitar Festival I ran a band workshop that was open to all levels and abilities. The workshop was well attended with some 20 guitarists, 8 singers, 3 bassists, and a drummer. The group performed a rocked up version of Lady Gaga’s #1 hit ‘Poker Face’!

Poker Face – Lady Gaga

BBC Radio

During the Cheltenham Guitar Festival I was given the opportunity to perform and talk about the festival in detail on BBC Radio Gloucestershire.

Click here to hear Richard Perkins Live on BBC Radio Gloucestershire

…and on the first day of South West Rocks, BBC Radio Bristol presenter Andy Howard dropped by the City of Bath College to interview me about the Rock Camp.

Click here to hear Richard Perkins Live on BBC Radio Bristol

About Richard Perkins

Richard Perkins is the founder of Bath Guitar School and has worked for the International Guitar Foundation, Brit Awards, Rockschool, B&NES Council, Mid Somerset Festival, Bath Music Plus, and appeared on BBC and ITV television and radio programming as well as being featured in Guitar Techniques, Total Guitar, Venue, Bath Life magazines and the Bath Chronicle newspaper. Richard is a graduate of the Commercial Music degree programme at Bath Spa University and has a HND in Popular Music from Oxford College.
This entry was posted in Music, Post #1, Video, Website, Workshop and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

