Richard Perkins ~ Star Student

Richard Perkins

Richard Perkins

At the turn of the millennium I started an academic journey into a world of fresh new music courses offered in the UK to give students the skills to help them succeed. Ten years later I owe a sincere thank you to every tutor who helped me along the way.

I am listed as a star student alumni on the Oxford and Cherwell Valley College website. I studied the Popular Music course.

Richard Perkins ~ Star Student

Richard Perkins ~ Star Student

I chose OCVC because I wanted to be a rock star in a band!”  This might be a familiar school boy ambition but, in Richard’s case, he wasn’t just killing time. From Marlborough School he opted for the two year course as it was close to home, with good bus services and all the facilities and support needed to nurture his talent.

“I had a really inspirational tutor. He planted the seed; suggesting I had natural flair and would make a good teacher myself. It made me determined to work hard and pursue my goals.”

Richard went on to study a Commercial Music degree at Bath Spa and then established the Bath Guitar School, offering tuition, creative workshops and guitar holidays to all aspiring guitarists. His teaching has secured him respect and renown in the music industry and his Monsters of Rock course is the subject of legend amongst aficionados.

“My business is thriving because it’s my passion. OCVC gave me the start I needed.

Excerpt taken from: http://www.ocvc.ac.uk/content/richard-perkins

About Richard Perkins

Richard Perkins is the founder of Bath Guitar School and has worked for the International Guitar Foundation, Brit Awards, Rockschool, B&NES Council, Mid Somerset Festival, Bath Music Plus, and appeared on BBC and ITV television and radio programming as well as being featured in Guitar Techniques, Total Guitar, Venue, Bath Life magazines and the Bath Chronicle newspaper. Richard is a graduate of the Commercial Music degree programme at Bath Spa University and has a HND in Popular Music from Oxford College.
This entry was posted in Music, Website and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Richard Perkins ~ Star Student

  1. Pingback: Injuries and Poor Musical Technique | Confident Performer

Leave a Reply

