New album: Radiohead ~ The King of Limbs

One of my favourite bands, like, ever; Radiohead, today announced the release of their new album via their Twitter and Facebook pages. The band posted a very short tweet: “Thank you for waiting… #thekingoflimbs“.

As an Oxford boy myself and a huge fan I dashed to the website and purchased the album there and then. I was immediately intrigued to see how Radiohead were selling their record this time round. The band famously released their last record, In Rainbows (2007), via a ‘pay what you want’ download method before releasing the record in a tangible form through XL Recordings. This turned the music industry on its head and a number of high profile artists soon followed suit shortly afterwards.

Radiohead’s ‘The King of Limbs‘ record is being released via the following methods:

The album is available to buy on presale as a download (available from 19/02/11):

  • mp3 – £6.00
  • wav – £9.00

There is also an option for a Newspaper album (shipping date 09/05/11), which includes:

  • Two clear 10″ vinyl records in a purpose-built record sleeve.
  • A compact disc.
  • Many large sheets of artwork, 625 tiny pieces of artwork and a full-colour piece of oxo-degradeable plastic to hold it all together.
  • The Newspaper Album comes with a digital download that is compatible with all good digital media players.
  • The Newspaper Album will be shipped on Monday 9th May 2011 you can, however, enjoy the download on Saturday 19th February 2011.
  • One lucky owner of the digital version of The King Of Limbs, purchased from this website, will receive a signed 2 track 12″ vinyl.

Prices for the Newspaper option are:

  • Newspaper album + mp3 – £30.00
  • Newspaper album + wav – £33.00

‘The King Of Limbs’ will be in stores on 12″/CD via XL (Europe), TBD (N-America) & Hostess (Japan/Asia): March 28 2011

No one knows what the album will sound like. The band will announce the track listing in the next few days. If their latest Dead Air Space blog post is anything to go by, perhaps we are in for another surprise.

  1. Fog (Jamie xx Remix) Nosaj Thing Drift (Remixed)
  2. Tripped Up Ramadanman Re-Edit Shortstuff Mickey Pearce
  3. Sun Days Macc & dgoHn
  4. Keep Time Shed
  5. Chromatic Fantasia and Fugue in D Minor, BWV 903: Fantasia Christophe Rousset Bach: Harpsichord Works
  6. SP Morgan Zarate
  7. Chazm Julio Bashmore
  8. Seamonkey (Untold Remix) Moderat
  9. Stereo Freeze Untold
  10. 7c 1020 Macc & dgoHn

Band website:

UPDATE 18/02/11

Radiohead today announced that they would be releasing ‘The King of Limbs’ one day earlier than originally planned (19/02/11), raising speculation between fans that perhaps there could be a second installment released tomorrow due to the relatively short length of this early release: 8 tracks; 40+mins. Radiohead are one for surprises, so we can be hopeful!

‘The King of Limbs’ Track Listing

  1. Bloom (05’14)
  2. Morning Mr Magpie (04’40)
  3. Little By Little (04’27)
  4. Feral (03’12)
  5. Lotus Flower (05’00)
  6. Codex (04’46)
  7. Give Up the Ghost (04’50)
  8. Separator (05’20)

YouTube is already filling up with versions of the tracks. Go check them out and then buy the record:

UPDATE 01/04/11

This past week Radiohead released the physical version of their album ‘The King of Limbs’ in record stores worldwide with a special edition newspaper entitled “The Universal Sigh”. Take a look:

Meanwhile guitarist Jonny Greenwood told rock magazine Q, “We’re recording at the moment. We’re just playing and making music and trying to work out what to do, really. We’ve stopped planning ahead very far and we’re just making music and wondering where to go next and what to do.” – Exciting times for any Radiohead fan as they write and record LP #8!

About Richard Perkins

Richard Perkins is the founder of Bath Guitar School and has worked for the International Guitar Foundation, Brit Awards, Rockschool, B&NES Council, Mid Somerset Festival, Bath Music Plus, and appeared on BBC and ITV television and radio programming as well as being featured in Guitar Techniques, Total Guitar, Venue, Bath Life magazines and the Bath Chronicle newspaper. Richard is a graduate of the Commercial Music degree programme at Bath Spa University and has a HND in Popular Music from Oxford College.
This entry was posted in Music, News, Website and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to New album: Radiohead ~ The King of Limbs

  1. littleoslo says:

    still dunno what newspaper album is but it seems good, becoz it is by radiohead

  2. Dan Ashby says:

    If I was to buy it, I would not be paying the extra £3 for the smoke and mirrors wav version. If they can’t encode to mp3 such that it is indistinguishable from the wav then I wouldn’t buy the mp3 either 🙂

  3. Marc says:

    A lot of people are always requesting for bands to release things in higher quality than the MP3 format. I think that’s where this WAV format has come from.

    I’m sure the MP3’s are more than adequate, but for those wanting something in extra-high quality the option is there.

    • Agreed. Ticks all the boxes. People moaned about the mp3 quality of ‘In Rainbows’ in 2007. I am sure someone will find fault somewhere!

      • Dan Ashby says:

        They should consider using AAC I suppose. Double blind testing confirms that it is impossible to reliably detect the compressed version. I don’t mind them releasing an uncompressed version, but why is it worth more money?

  4. bv says:

    Yeah, charging extra for the Wav’s is a bit much. Can’t possibly cost £3 more on server fees especially if you’re getting the CD (with the newspaper thing) later, so you can re-rip as a WAV then…

    Now for the tour announcements….

  5. Love the sneak attack. Love the creepy ghost octopus cover art.

  6. Pingback: Radiohead – The King of Limbs Newspaper Album | I'M A GUITARIST, GET ME OUT OF HERE!

  7. Pingback: Radiohead – The King of Limbs Newspaper Album | I'M A GUITARIST, GET ME OUT OF HERE!

Leave a Reply to bv Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s